Does anyone really know the true meaning of Easter anymore?

 

IMG_3284

I for one, have definitely forgotten what the history of Easter is all about despite it being drilled into my head during 12 years of Catholic schooling. I know it’s something to do with Jesus, Good Friday and his rising from the dead… but that’s about as much as I can recall. Does it really matter though, I’m wondering? I did try and give up something for Lent (Pizza – lasting about 2 weeks), and I’m not smashing chocolate down my throat at any given chance (just the daily Connoisseur ice cream – amazing range of flavours and really worth a try). So I suppose I’m doing okay in the grand scheme of things. What’s it all about anyway?

To me, it’s a time of reflection. It’s now 4 months into the new year, and most of us are sitting here wondering how the hell it got to April when it was Christmas like 5 days ago? I don’t know if it’s just me, but time seriously keeps getting faster and faster. Regardless, we’ve had 4 months to hone our new year resolutions – whatever they may be. By now we have realised what works and what doesn’t, what was probably an unrealistic goal, and what we can aim to achieve in 2018 (which is just around the corner at the rate things are going). I actually saw a Christmas party package online the other day for a hotel. WTF!? Give us a chance to get over the hangover and pork-induced coma of Christmas 2016 for God’s sake!

It’s also a time for hanging out with the family like we’re all best mates and everything is La-di-da. I say this after being yelled at by my mother for stealing her clothes yet again (well really, if you’re going to have a baby at the age of 19 what can you expect? I’ll have those Lorna Jane pants thanks). Everyone at my house is currently having an afternoon nap after a big feed of nachos, then we’re taking the dachshund down to the beach so she can get mocked by all the gigantic dogs as she waddles her little legs around. SO DARN CUTE.

Anyways, I do hope that everyone celebrates the long weekend in whatever fashion suits them. Breathe, exhale, and appreciate the lovely in-between-seasons weather, because soon it will be Christmas again and we’ll be chucking a prawn on the barbie (for those of us in Australia at least).

“Hedwig didn’t return until the end of the Easter holidays. Percy’s letter was enclosed in a package of Easter eggs that Mrs. Weasley had sent. Both Harry’s and Ron’s were the size of dragon eggs, and full of home-made toffee. Hermione’s, however, was smaller than a chicken’s egg. Her face fell when she saw it.
“Your mum doesn’t read Witch’s Weekly, by any chance, does she, Ron?” she asked quietly.
“Yeah,” said Ron, whose mouth was full of toffee. “Gets it for the recipes.”
Hermione looked sadly at her tiny egg.” (J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire). 

IMG_3389

Photo credits – roundrockfarm & babyanimalstagram

2 thoughts on “Does anyone really know the true meaning of Easter anymore?

  1. i wish i could remember why mrs. weasley was obviously cross with hermione. its rough being muggle-born, and coming from an entirely different culture. of course harry should understand, given who he grew up with.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

