Writing; A cathartic release for my soul.

IMG_3459

Sometimes before actually looking at my blog I get asked by people what I write about or what inspires me, and I have to take a second to think about my answer because in all honesty – I don’t have a general theme or angle. I suppose if I had to blanket my articles under a category, it would be ‘life’ – but this is pretty broad and leads to the question ‘What is life?’… For me, blogging is about being able to channel all my thoughts and feelings into a neat, well flowing story. It’s not about impressing or attracting readers, or making money. It’s about a girl, letting the words flow from her mind and seeing what the finished product looks like.

My blogs are actually a work in progress, like a continuing cycle or a very large puzzle. Whenever I have a spare few minutes I browse through images online, looking for special moments that really capture something significant. I only choose images that have moved me, or reminded me of a memory / time / place… images that inspire me to write about things that have happened in my life, or a general topic and my views. Sometimes I might bookmark an image and not return to it for a few weeks, until I’m reminded of why I chose that particular story line or am feeling the same way again. Other times, I’ll find an image and simply can’t wait to write my story – the words literally come rushing out and I need to catch my breath at the end. It’s always an interesting process watching my story unfold – I never know what I’ll be discussing at the end until the time comes which is what I enjoy. It’s organic, authentic and from the heart.

I’ve always enjoyed reading and writing from a young age. I suppose being an only child until I was 10 had something to do with it – I needed to find something to fill the time, so I turned to journalling and reading fantasy books. I’d get lost in the world of The Hobbit, Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter over and over again, escaping into a land full of magic, secrecy and intrigue. I loved English at school and went on to complete a degree in Journalism majoring in Communications, but I must admit during my university years I lost a lot of my passions. Since starting this blog 4 months ago I’ve felt a real sense of contentment and pride, as though something has finally fallen into place. Put simply, I think I’m meant to write.

I encourage everyone to keep following their curiosity in life, until they find something they can own, enjoy and be proud of. I may only get a few people reading this post, but if I can inspire one person or make them reflect on what it is that feeds their passions, I will be happy.

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” (Maya Angelou). 

IMG_3131

Photo credits – twbloves & hubs_united

3 thoughts on “Writing; A cathartic release for my soul.

  1. I can see you write from the heart, with honesty and sensitivity. I love these qualities. Blogging is a wonderful way to tap into the deep wells within – to find out what we think, feel, what we’re inspired by. I will enjoy reading your posts. Thank you for visiting mine.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

