Decision making… I’d rather not.

IMG_3206

When you’re given options in life – to choose A versus B, this versus that, the decision making process can seem so daunting that more often than not, you tend to become stagnant. Lost between your current reality and a perceived change of course, you’re afraid of taking any step in either direction, scared to lose what you already have but at the same time scared to never experience something new.

I’m one of those people that either makes split decisions without thinking about anything at all, or I simply dwell on things too long that the opportunity passes as I’m hiding in my cave. I’m not even weighing up the pros and cons in my head, mapping out the direction of each decision – no, I’ve simply ‘checked out’. Something in me has decided that making this decision is too hard, I’m not going to be happy either way, so I’d simply rather not. That’s the thing these days – we have too many options that we’re constantly left wondering if option C might have been better than option D, and so on. It’s incredibly tiring.

Just recently I’ve been presented with an option that I know deep down I’m not ready for, though all sensible people would choose to go through with it. I’m not the type of person that follows my head though, always trusting the intuition of my gut instincts instead. When every fibre in me is screaming no, I shouldn’t have to make excuses or explain myself. I shouldn’t have to feel guilty about saying no, or worry about the consequences – we all need to choose what’s right for us at this particular time in our lives. How else can we grow and learn, without the values of retrospect and hindsight? Maybe in 6 months or a year, I’ll think back to the options I had at this time and pat myself on the back for following my heart, and not what society would have me conform to.

Never cut a tree down in the wintertime. Never make a negative decision in the low time. Never make your most important decisions when you are in your worst moods. Wait. Be patient. The storm will pass. The spring will come.

Robert H. Schuller

img_3030

Photo credits – templeofleaves & pr0ject_uno

Leave a Reply

