Small town manners.

img_2710

I’d just like to say a big THANK YOU to the nice people I have encountered in the last few weeks since moving back to my hometown for a while. I’m not saying that nice people don’t exist in big cities, and perhaps it’s only because I have significantly lowered my social outings (thus limiting my dealings with the human race), but I’ve met some genuinely nice people in the last few weeks – so refreshing!

As you might know, I (thought) I had completely bombed this job interview last week. Well in saying that, I didn’t get the job so I can’t have gone fantastically, HOWEVER – I just bumped into one of the interviewers while grabbing a coffee and he stopped me to say how well I had interviewed! I was completely shocked. I mean, he could have just walked past and ignored me. But no, he stopped and took the time to let me know he would have liked to work with me. I was completely over the moon – after spending the last few days in self pity this was music to my ears. Thank you kind man!

I encountered another simple example of small town manners this morning, when the phone rang. Low and behold it was my Nana’s chiropractor checking in to make sure she was doing her home exercises. How lovely is that! Now what chiropractor working in a large super clinic would ever stop to make a personal home call? None that I’ve met, that’s for sure. That level of service to me is just wonderful, and I’m sure my Nana would agree.

All in all, I think once you open your eyes to the small, heartfelt deeds occurring between strangers, patients, friends and family each day, you’ll be amazed at how easy it is to put a smile on someone’s face. Wherever there is a human being, there is an opportunity for kindness (Lucius Annaeus Seneca). 

img_2715

Photo credits – thejungalow & zeebachi

 

One thought on “Small town manners.

  1. nice post, im glad you met the interviewer again.

    you have a doppelganger in the states, you know– i saw a girl walking down the street who had an uncanny resemblance to you. i was like “h–” … no, not you of course. but for half a second! (if i find more clones wandering about in public though, i will be sure to report it to you.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

