Interviews got me feeling blue…

image

Yesterday I had a job interview. To say I completely bombed it would be a complete understatement… It was horrific. I even got the rejection email a couple of hours afterwards confirming it, so what can I say? Yes, I stuffed it up. I wanted the earth to swallow me up whole or to at least melt into the wall. FACE-PALM.

Who on earth decided that a formal panel of 3 interviewers in a stifled, white room was the best method at figuring out whether I’m going to nail the job? And WHO on earth decided that letting the next interviewee sit outside of said room, where I could see them waiting, was a good idea!? Yes, I was quite utterly crapping myself! I haven’t had an interview in 2 years, and I’m meant to waltz in guns-a-blazing and wow the pants of these straight-laced people with a few CHOICE words and my sales pitch. No thanks! Why couldn’t we have bonded over a cheese platter and bubbles, letting the conversation flow in a more natural way?

Surely I’m not the only person who finds the idea of a formal interview process completely unnatural. They probably had me pegged as the most boring, shy, untalented candidate from the minute I sat down. And fair enough – I couldn’t let my personality shine through in such forced conditions. I hate that we have to conform to such a generic process and impress potential employees under such stressful conditions. So what if I take a while to warm up to people? I can still do the job, and do it well. All I wanted was a chance.

Okay so now that it’s over, how can I move forward and regain my shattered confidence? Well, in hindsight – having an interview is good experience and will definitely make me better prepared for the next one. If I’m perfectly honest with myself, something in me knew that I wasn’t quite right for this particular job anyway. I think that if I had really wanted it, I would have fought harder for it and cast the nerves aside. Self-sabotage perhaps? Who knows. Either way, I wish the successful candidate all the best in their role. I will move forward with the knowledge that yesterday wasn’t my day, and I’ll be damned sure to make it rain for my next interview. You got this girl!

image

Photo credits – ourmoodydays

4 thoughts on “Interviews got me feeling blue…

Leave a Reply

