“Moonlight drowns out all but the brightest stars”

image

If you’ve ever had the pleasure of reading The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien, you will understand the allure of escaping into such a beautifully depicted world. I’m currently re-reading this iconic novel for the 3rd or 4th time (I can’t quite remember but I know it’s been a couple of years). To my pleasure I am discovering little sentences here and there that I might have previously glossed over – either way, it’s almost like my first time.

I think the universal love for this novel goes beyond simply enjoying the (fantastic) storyline. After all – goblins, elves, wizards and Dark Lords all make for a darn good tale. But for me, it’s much more than that. It’s an escape into the forest… it’s enchanting, it’s an escape from reality and it takes you to a somewhat simpler (but at the same time exceedingly complex) time. I honestly can’t understand how people don’t enjoy fantasy stories, or perhaps I am jealous that the real world gives them enough satisfaction? Either way, I’m grateful for the power of words and imagination.

I remember first reading The Hobbit and LOTR around the age of 11 or 12. I’m sure that the Old English style of writing would have been difficult for me to comprehend back then, but I must have at least grasped the wonder of Middle Earth as my fascination is still alive and well. I remember being particularly moved by the notion of Ents (the talking, walking tree-giants) of the Forest of Fangorn. I think the idea of trees being able to communicate with each other is really beautiful, and not so far from the realms of possibility. Maybe it’s the idea of being close with nature, or just the idea of observing an ancient tradition… either way it captured a place in my heart.

There’s no words to even describe how beautiful the Elven realm of Lothlorien was described (except of course, those penned by J.R.R. Tolkien himself). If I could somehow re-create such enchanting places for my home, I would be happy to live out the rest of my days wandering around the forest and sleeping in the roots of gigantic trees. Why oh why can’t it just be real!? I suppose I just need to be grateful that such an incredible story was ever penned, and that I can escape time and time again into the pages of Middle Earth.

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”
― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings.

image

Photo credits – rusticbones & shotzdelight

Leave a Reply

