And they called it puppy love…

image

I must admit, I’ve been totally and completely converted into a dog person in a matter of weeks thanks to the addition of @audrey_the_sausage (follow her on instagram!) to our family. The cutest and cuddliest chocolate dachshund you ever did see, she arrived into my life at exactly the right time and I’m ever so grateful.

For years I’ve been all about the cats, the fluffy ones with huge eyes who just gaze at you and purr… who massage your tummy when you’re trying to sleep…. Yes, I still love them. But I didn’t quite realise my heart would explode with love for dear Audrey, who often leaves a puddle on the floor from excitement at seeing you each day. If that isn’t love then I don’t know what is.

Growing up I was always too concerned about getting dog saliva or hair all over me to take notice of the gorgeous bundles of joy that I’ve now come to love. SO glad I’ve gotten over that, I’ll now happily roll around on the floor with Audrey and appreciate snuggles 24/7. I love all her moods, especially sleepy Audrey. Her eyes can barely stay open so I just sit there holding her little paw, singing to her like a newborn child. Catholic hymns are my go to! WTF has happened to me?

For years, studies have shown the benefits to humans of having animals in their life; simply patting a dog is known to increase your endorphins. And how could anyone say that we don’t bring joy to their lives? When I see Audrey almost wriggle out of her skin with happiness in the morning, I just know that is pure joy. Recently I watched a documentary on dogs who are bred into fighting pits, absolutely gut-wrenching viewing (The Champions – available on Netflix). Most states in the US have a law where any dogs rescued from such fighting pits are put down out of fear for society. There are however, a handful of wonderful organisations dedicated to rehabilitating these dogs into loving family homes which is fantastic to see.

I could write for hours about how full my heart is after meeting Audrey, but I think the most important thing to note is that we should cherish these human/animal relationships for as long as they last. Treat all animals with respect and love, and they will return it to you tenfold.

image

Photo credit – earthspirit

One thought on “And they called it puppy love…

  1. I am a dog person, never had a cat, so dont know how i’d feel about that. I watch cat vidoes and find them interesting, so maybe one day.

    I had a furry friend too, read about him here -https://himadri7.wordpress.com/2017/01/22/my-love-bruno-%E2%9D%A4/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

